Our Team

Festival Director
Joe MacCarrick has been involved in theatre for over thirty years. He has directed hugely successful productions of See How They Run and The Chastitute with Athlone Little Theatre and The Six Mary’s by Jean Farrell which toured nationwide. He became Deputy Festival Director in 2012 and Festival Director in 2013.
Regina Bushell Deputy Festival Director
Regina Bushell has been a committee member for over 35 years and was involved in the hospitality area for much of that time, including festival merchandising. In her role as Events Manager, Regina looked after some key events associated with the festival.
Honorary Secretary
Doreen Holloway comes from a family steeped in drama and has been actively involved from an early age. She has a passion for the arts in general but particularly in involving the younger generation. She is looking forward to the challenges ahead in her new role as Honorary Secretary.
Assistant Secretary
Harry Smith has given over 40 years of dedicated service to the drama festival and he has served in many roles including Groups Liaison Officer, Programme Co-Ordinator and Honorary Secretary.
Honorary Treasurer
Alan Shaw has over 15 years in theatre and as been a member of RTÉ All Ireland Drama Festival since 2002, Alan has worked as Deputy PRO and became PRO in 2012. He became Treasurer in 2017.
Majella O’Dea has been a fan of drama since attending the annual Kiltullagh One-Act Festival as a child. She has a keen interest in the performing arts both professional and non-professional. She joined the committee in 2016 as part of the social network management team. In 2017 she was elected Festival PRO, a role which she embraces with enthusiasm.
BrianToolin-785x769 Fringe Festival
Brian Toolan is a former London Merchant Banker. Brian has had an interest in competitive Irish Drama from age 12 when his father, an Esso employee, used to take him on the circuit. Now an academic business lecturer, resident in Athlone, he is responsible for the extensive and varied festival fringe programme.
Sponsorship Officer
Shay Ellis has been a member of the committee for over fourteen years. He has been a stalwart member of the committee working mainly in the area of Publicity. He has worked closely with RTÉ over the years as well as assisting in many other aspects of the Festival’s organisation. He has also acted as Public Relations Officer with the Amateur Drama Council of Ireland until 2012.
Bookings Officer
Olive Martin joined the drama festival committee over 30 years ago in 1984. In her roles she is sure footed and passionate. In Olive’s role as the festival Groups Reception Officer and her role as the Festival Club Manager her commitment has been exemplary. Over the last number of years Olive has taken on the role of Bookings Officer and again in this role her passion shines through.
Theatre Liaison Officer
Aidan Flanagan joined the festival committee in 2000 and during that time served in the publicity area as well as front-of-house duties. Since 2012 he has co-ordinated theatrical logistics during the Festival.
Festival Club Manager
Ray Collins has been involved with the Festival for almost 40 years and is the welcoming face of the festival in his front-of-house role. He has been responsible for the Festival Club since 2005.
Committee Members
Emmet Arrigan, Mary Berry, Ronan Bushell, Bronagh Connolly, Aideen Egan, Margaret Egan, Eileen Jennings, Eunan Keys, Tom Martin, Anthony Merrigan, Mary Merrigan, John McGee, Doreen O’Shea
Honorary Life Members
Therese Byrne, Mary Corcoran, Liam Kelleher, Mel O’Flynn